Types of Tea & Reading

If I asked any of you who know me, what I love you might guess Tea &/or Reading and you would be right.  I enjoy both daily…& often… throughout the day.

Since many people know this about me, I am often given gifts related to those two subjects.  I have books, books & more books, and I have all sorts of teapots, teacups, tea accessories and various types of tea.  I often invite people over for tea. If you visit me, you will be offered a variety of specialty teas.  All sorts of flavors.  Almond Dessert Tea, Sleepy time tea, herbal teas, tea from my English friends, Blackberry and Apricot tea have been two of the most recent favorites.  And, of course, I have my daily favorite, British Blend Tetley Tea.  The tea that wakes me in the morning & calms me in the afternoon.  I really prefer Plain old, Black tea over all the fruity teas I own.  Sometimes in the evening I might enjoy a cup of fruity tea, but mostly I crave my “regular cup of tea.”

This week I’ve been thinking a lot about my reading (& obviously my tea.)  I read all sorts of devotionals, inspirational fiction, & non-fiction by respected Christian authors.  I have now considered my reading habits and my tea habits to be related.  These various Christian books are helpful & good, but they aren’t The Good Book.  Though I own all of those “fruity teas” & “good reads.”  What I need to start my days are my plain ole Tetley tea and my Bible.  The devotionals & the fruity teas make my day a bit nicer, but the good ole, comfortable tea and the Bible keep me on the right track.

15 and how from infancy you have known the Holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. 16 All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, 17 so that the servant of God[a] may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.       –2 Timothy 3:15-17

Dear Lord,

Thank you for your word….and the words of others.  Thank you for the comforts we have in enjoying a cup of coffee or tea and enjoying your word.  Help us to not forget that some people can’t enjoy either one.  Remind us to pick up your word first.  We praise you and honor you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotionals, Inspirational, Scriptures

Leave a Reply

