Lists of Shoulds & Musts

I am always fascinated when I see a list.  Maybe I would feel fulfilled if I actually accomplished the things on that list.  When the new year rolled around and I was setting goals (& I use those two words very loosely!) I noticed all sorts of lists/goals on the internet.  Here are just a few that caught my eye:

31 Healthy Foods You Should Be Eating Now

45 Must See Places to Take Your Kids Before They’re Grown

10 Key Beliefs Every Christian Should Know

36 Little Hacks Guaranteed to Make a Parent’s Job Easier

100 Books to Read Before You Die

52 Places to Go in 2015

You get the idea.  Wouldn’t it be fun to take your kids to those places before they’re grown?  Wouldn’t you love to go to one place a week in 2015?  Aren’t these lists fun goals to set?  I love them and one day I’m going to pick a crazy list and just start at #1 and go for it!  ’27 Surreal Places to Visit Before You Die’ would find me at The Great Blue Hole in Belize, Mendenhall Ice Caves in Alaska & The Swing at the “End of the World” in Banos, Ecuador.  HOWEVER to complete the list I’d have to travel to Vietnam, Gansu, China and the Tunnel of Love in Ukraine, so i don’t see that happening.  So, what would be a worthy list to try to check off?  It would need to be short since I have no attention span for long lists.  It would have to be clear and concise.  Hmmm.  I found one.  Micah 6:8  “He has shown you, O Mortal, what is good.  And what does the Lord require of you?  To act justly, to love mercy & to walk humbly with your God.”  Only THREE things.  That should be simple enough.  I could try to check the box beside each one each day.  I could feel fulfilled.  I could, but will I?  It seriously might be easier to travel to Gansu, China!  However, it sure is a worthy list to try!

What list are you working on?  Please share.  Wait!  Maybe you shouldn’t because then I might want to try it too and I already am plugging away at the 100 Books to Read Before I Die.  Looks like I might live forever!

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspirational, Scriptures, Travels

Leave a Reply

