A Disciplined Day

Lists.  Anyone who knows me knows I live by Lists.  I’m a list maker.  I  make lists for the grocery store, shopping, chores, home improvements, party plans, everyday to-do lists, who to send Birthday cards to.  Lists.  George even found my hidden list where I write down when I’ve sent a card to my kids (& even what was in it.)  I like to keep track with lists.  I do recognize it is a part of my personality.  It’s how I learn, how I discipline myself to get some things done.  Others don’t make list (on paper) but they do, however, keep their lists on their minds.  People can accomplish what they need to accomplish without a list.  Today is Ash Wednesday, the beginning of Lent and I’ve been thinking about discipline.  The definition of discipline that is:  strict training that corrects or strengthens; habits & ways of acting that are gotten through practice; system of rules.

1 Corinthians 9:24-25   Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize?  Run in such a way as to get the prize  Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training.  They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.

In a devotion written by Franklin Graham in the book 365 Daily Devotions for Women, he writes:

“God is clear:  we must exercise self-discipline in all matters.  Self-discipline is not simply a proven way to get ahead; it’s also an integral part of God’s plan for our lives.  If we genuinely seek to be faithful stewards of our time, our talents, and our resources, we must adopt a disciplined approach to life.  Otherwise, our talents are wasted & our resources are squandered.  Our greatest rewards result from hard work & perseverance.  May we, as disciplined believers, be willing to work for the rewards we so earnestly desire.”

As I read that devotion, I thought of Lent.  I need to be a more disciplined person.  I need to think about what discipline I can develop to be a better steward of my time and my talents.  Maybe my list could be made shorter, if I turned off the TV more often.  Or, maybe I need to wake up a little earlier.  Are some of the things on my list even necessary or could I spend that time on something else to better serve God?

As we think of Lent and what we might give up or as my mother recommended, start doing….let’s become more aware of the need to live a disciplined life.  Put that on your list of things to do today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotionals, Inspirational, Scriptures

Leave a Reply

