Open the floodgates, Let it Rain!

A friend was telling me about an upcoming Women’s Conference she is planning.  The theme is going to be “Open the floodgates of Heaven.  Let it Rain!  Let it Rain!”  It was fun to hear her excitement about the ways she is interpreting scriptures and the message she wants to share.  I had told her about a situation that had happened to me and how I really want to share with others about this trauma and the way God has helped me through it.  We were discussing how I might be able to speak at this conference.  It would be encouraging to share, but this particular situation didn’t really fit into the theme without a lot of tweaking.  I dismissed the idea, but pondered this theme for a couple of months and was intrigued by what Kim was really hoping to share.

1Kings 18:41 is the key verse, “…Get thee up, eat and drink; for there is a sound of abundance of rain”  The Message version of the Bible states it this way: “41 Elijah said to Ahab, “Up on your feet! Eat and drink—celebrate! Rain is on the way; I hear it coming.”  That does sound fun!  God is going to bless us.  I can “hear” it!

One day I got into the shower and the water was just trickling into the tub.  The water filter needed changed.  I was naked and needed to get ready to go out, so I stopped up the tub, let the trickle form a puddle and huddled near the water coming out of the spigot.  I cupped my hands and used the water to wash my face, I kept splashing water on myself to stay warm and try to clean.  My husband heard me struggling and went to the basement to change the filter for me.  The water stopped completely as he put the replacement filter on.  I crouched there still and cold and waited.  Finally I could hear the water heading up the pipes from the basement and into my shower head.  AAAAh, the water pressured through the shower head and warmed me and I was able to get a proper shower.  In that moment, I felt like I was starting to get a better understanding of what Kim is hoping to share.  As I huddled over the puddle of water, I thought about how similar this puddle is to how I approach life sometimes.  I take God’s blessings, see them as small, try to sprinkle them over me, attempt to be content with what He is providing when in reality, he wants to open the floodgates of Heaven and Let it Rain on me.  I am satisfying myself with a puddle when he wants to shower me with blessings.  I believe He is just waiting for me to change the filter, have the water lines open and ready so that he can Let it Rain!  Today I intend to look beyond my puddle and wait expectantly for it to rain!  It’s hard to believe that sometimes the lesson is in the trivial things of our daily lives and not the bigger events where we are looking for it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

