Back to School Meals

When my son started Kindergarten over 20 years ago, I started a tradition that has stood up to the test of time.  Back to School Meals.  Each year, my kids get to select a meal for back to school.  We started with the youngest on the first day, the next youngest got to pick the second day, the third youngest and so on.  It was a huge help for me as a Mom to have someone else plan out the menu and it was always entertaining.

One year my daughter went with a Circle Themed meal.  Circle Soup (canned chicken O’Noodle Soup), Ritz Crackers and Oreos for dessert.  What a blessing that was for the hectic first day of school.  My son usually opted for Steak and Baked Potatoes with toppings and another daughter could be counted on for Chicken Breasts and Stove Top Stuffing.  And, if you happened to have a night that corresponded with a music lesson out of town, you got to pick the restaurant, another bonus.

I LOVE this tradition and plan to continue it until the only one returning to school is me and my “school” may equate to reading a new novel or attending a Drivers’ Safety Course for the elderly.  This year, my only two children at home did not disappoint.

Day #1 – K – chose Spaghetti with meatballs, tossed salad, garlic bread and Ice Cream Cake for dessert.  Day #2 – P –chose “Chicken on the Bone” (Chicken Drumsticks, I usually only buy chicken breasts), Mashed Potatoes out of a box, and peas and going out for ice cream for dessert.

Pretty simple requests.  Pretty decent meals and a lot of joy sitting around the table discussing the first days of school. Since my Ice Cream Cake is a hit with many people and is often what my kids choose instead of a traditional Birthday Cake, I thought I’d share the recipe.  This recipe is compliments of a Tupperware Catalog years ago!  (I believe you are supposed to prepare this recipe in a 12” Large Pie Carrier with a red seal.)

Cream Filled Chocolate Cookie Ice Cream Pie

1 16 oz pkg cookies (Oreos!)

1/4 C Butter melted

½ gallon Vanilla Ice Cream, softened

1 10 oz jar chocolate fudge topping

1 12 oz container whipped topping

Mix crushed cookies with melted butter.  Press into the bottom of a container (9×13 or 12” round.) Spread ice cream over top of cookies.  Pour fudge topping in even layer over ice cream.  Spread whipped topping over fudge. Garnish with chocolate curls or cookies if desired.  Put in freezer for at least two hours.

Leave a comment

Filed under family, Little Kids, Parenting, Recipes

Leave a Reply

