Love Dare #10

What did you do today?  Well, many things, but the thing that I’m most proud of is what I did for my husband.  A friend and I are working through The Love Dare, a 40 day Love Journey (Based on the book The Love Dare by Alex Kendrick.)  It is an intentional journey where each day you do one thing different for your spouse (without pointing it out to them.)  So, the goal is that you change….even if your spouse doesn’t.  It definitely puts things in a different perspective.

I originally did this dare in 2009, a year after the book came out.  It amazed me that I had been married 21 years and hadn’t thought of some of these things!  The premise is that each day you read a scripture, and then do a dare. In the book there is an actual box that you can check off once you’ve completed the task (dare.)  I used to joke that I wondered how many people had to drop out of the Love Dare Challenge.  Day #1 was difficult for me.  Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. –Ephesians 4:2.  The dare is what the book calls, “fairly simple,” but demonstrating patience by “saying nothing negative to your spouse at all” was extremely difficult for me to accomplish.  What?!  Not say anything negative? So, how am I supposed to report that someone left the milk out, the garbage disposal is broken again AND that I had to pick up a kid at soccer because he was late coming home?!  So, that particular challenge took me more than one day, but I did get by it.  I’m pleased to say that 6 years later, I have been able to tame my tongue and completed that dare in a single day.  However, along comes #10 – Love is unconditional. God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us — Romans 5:8; Today’s Dare? Do something out of the ordinary for your spouse –something that proves (to you and to them) that your love is based on your choice and nothing else.

The first time through, I decided to make my spouse’s coffee in the morning.  I’m a tea drinker, so i never bothered preparing his pot.  In 27 years of marriage I can honestly say that this single act has had the greatest positive reward for the least amount of effort.  It begins the day on a good note and is one simple act that shows I care.  I can’t believe I didn’t think of it before.  So, round two, what should I do?  I read this dare two days ago and thought of something, but it took until today for me to muster up the inner strength to accomplish it.

What did I do today?  I cleaned up dried chicken poop off of the garage floor.  Yes, our chickens came into our garage when the door was left open and they pooped.  They pooped on the floor, but the lace to my husband’s work boot was right in the midst of the puddle.  I have learned from experience that wet chicken poop may be even harder to clean up than dried chicken poop (after the chickens got into my family room in the basement and were left unattended for several hours but that’s a subject of another blog some day!)  So I waited.  I walked past that mess more than once as I entered the house and thought I should clean it up.  But, the garage is husband territory, so I walked by….more than once….more than several times…you get the idea.  Do something that proves my love? I cleaned the poop AND scrubbed it off his laces for him.  True love for sure!  But, wait.  I didn’t stop there.  While in the garage I saw a mousetrap that had been triggered but no mouse was visible. (No matter how much I love that man, there is no way I would touch a mousetrap if a mouse were in it!) I made the decision to bait the trap again for him.  I have never set a mousetrap before.  This is not my domain, that is his job!  But, it’s a dare and I chose to take it.  I reset the mousetrap and topped it off with a dollop of Peanut Butter.  Done. Hands washed (more than once) and I’ve completed the dare.  YAY!

Does this prove my love is unconditional?  Did I demonstrate the sheer joy of being his partner in marriage?  I am certain that I did something that proved my love is based on my choice and nothing else.  I’m not sure if he will even notice (unless of course, my trap catches a mouse and I will definitely let him know!)  I do love my spouse and I am excited to have done a dare to attempt to prove my love. Though it took days to resolve to do it, it really only took a few minutes and a couple of pitches on the finger to accomplish it.

I dare you to give the Love Dare a try!

2 Comments

Filed under family, Inspirational, Scriptures

2 responses to “Love Dare #10

  1. This is amazing what you did! I don’t think I would have cleaned the poop, & I’m impressed that you did not nag him about it! Go you!
    However, your comment about “joking that people have to drop out” is really discouraging. I’m glad you’ve never failed, but this is my 3rd try at the book in 3 years. I have not made it through, but hope I can this time. So yes, to answer the question that amuses you, yes, people drop out. Haha isn’t that funny? 😦

    Like

    • Thank you for your comments. I must admit that life has gotten in the way of my blogging so I am just now reading your comments. I apologize for my late reply and would like to encourage you to keep at it. How is it going for you this time? Third time a charm? I’m sorry you found my use of “amusing” discouraging, never my intent and probably careless. However, if we drop out, it is simply our choice to do so. Keep trying. Even if we don’t get amazing results, we are better for our efforts! God Bless you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

