Worth Repeating

WorthRepeatingLogo

My morning routine is very…..well routine.  Each morning, I wake up, make a cup of tea and head to my dining room table for my morning devotions and to write in my journal.  I always read Our Daily Bread & a passage of scripture.  I am currently reading through the New Testament on a 6 month plan and today’s assignment was 2 Corinthians 12 & 13.  I read those and completed my totally unrelated Q&A a day: (Today’s question: What do you have to get done? In 2013 I answered “prepare a nice meal for George’s return from Florida” & last year “write a blog post!”)

After my time at the dining room table each day, I begin tackling tasks, chores and the game of life.  Today I really wanted to write a blog post (probably because I read it in my Q&A a day from last year) so I head upstairs to work.  I decide to dig out some old journals to see what sparks my interest.  After reading only 2 pages, I come to a journal entry dated April 7, 2014.

Dear Heavenly Father,

I come to you today, distracted.  I am feeling agitated and annoyed and out of sorts for no apparent reason.  I have been reading about serving and am not sure of my motives when I serve.  If I’m serving with the right heart, I get joy and I am pleased to have served, but it is difficult to be humble.  I find pride to be a huge obstacle to me, but I don’t know how to get away from it.  Sometimes, like today, I feel that it is difficult to serve in my current capacity.  Dear Lord, help me to serve you by serving others. Help me feel like I am serving you by driving the girls to music, taking Richard to the dentist, doing laundry & picking up after others.  Help me to see beyond the “work of today” & see it as “the service for eternity.” Help me to take the focus off of myself and on to others.  Help my work to be more productive.  Take away this unsettling feeling that I have and grant me contentment in all things.  Give me a grateful heart. (still in original journal entry)…AFTER writing the above I read my Bible passage from The Upper Room.  2 Corinthians 12:1-10.  All about boasting & weakness.  God’s perfect timing is revealed again.

ALERT! 2 Corinthians 12?!  Didn’t I just read that THIS morning?  God’s perfect timing is revealed yet again!  The same prayer I prayed over 11 years ago is still applicable today.  The names have changed, the chores differ a bit, but I am still serving others…and unfortunately, I still struggle to do it with the right heart. So, I will take comfort in God’s Word:  2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.

So, 11 years later, I find myself still weak, hence, still strong. Maybe this post will strike a nerve with you.  Maybe God’s perfect timing is you reading this right now.  If so, I’ve prayed for you.  May you also be weak….and also strong.  God Bless You!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under family, Scriptures

Leave a Reply

