Time Well Spent?

clock-bible-wood-concept-showing-few-minutes-to-twelve-o-focus-41026617A few weeks ago, I attended 3 meetings for church.  Now, it is rare that I would have 3 meetings in one week, but it did make me think.  I, and many others, spent 4.5 hours in meetings discussing the best ways to do the Lord’s work.  I had to drive to and from the meetings, so that’s another 20 minutes gone. (Good thing I live close!)  I had to prepare for the meeting, grab a pen, a notebook, a bottle of water, put on my shoes, brush my teeth, another 30 minutes?  That’s at least 320 minutes devoted to attending meetings in a single week.  So, it made me wonder if that time was well spent.  It was definitely necessary.  I have a commitment to committees and there is church business that needs to be addressed.  There was good discussion and we did accomplish some things, so it wasn’t a waste of time by any means, but was it time well spent?  Could that time have been better spent visiting a sick person in the hospital?  Could I have read to my child? Could I have phoned an elderly relative? Could I have volunteered at a soup kitchen?  I’m sure there is a lot I could’ve done.  I wonder, what changes would our church see if everyone who had attended those meetings had spent that much time reading their Bible that week?  What if we had spent 5 + hours in prayer?  We will never know because I did indeed spend that time in meetings, but I do hope in the future to be more aware.  Sometimes the meeting needs me…and sometimes the meeting needs me to be praying.  I’m certain that God can accomplish much more than I can anyway!

Pray without ceasing. –1 Thes. 5:17 KJV

1 Comment

Filed under family, Inspirational, Scriptures, Uncategorized

One response to “Time Well Spent?

  1. This is so true.. Read Mueller’s autobiography and become really convicted about prayer. Too busy to pray….than just too busy…I reckon. Thanks Linda.

    Like

Leave a Reply

