Life’s Too Short

2shortStepping out of the shower, I grab the new, fluffy, foam green towel and I start to dry off.  Actually, I start to disperse the water droplets on my body to a new location on my body. My new fluffy towel looks so pretty, but it just doesn’t do the job! I decided to buy new towels when at Christmas time one of my guests grabbed a battered, faded Bob the Builder towel out of the linen closet.  I dug deeper to find an appropriate towel and thought that I would have to upgrade all the towels in my home soon.  I headed to the store and attempted to buy nice bath towels.  Not bath sheets, bath towels.  I also wanted them to be able to fit in my designated bath towel location, so I didn’t want them to be super thick.  We chose ones we thought were appropriate and I decided to retire all the towels in my home.  Even the ones that I considered the “good towels” until after my shopping trip.  Unfortunately, I am not happy with the new towels and long for Bob the Builder and its rough exfolliating texture.  I don’t like fluff that doesn’t absorb.  I finished attempting to dry with the towel and declared, “Life’s too short to use a towel every day that I don’t enjoy!”  I dressed and went to the basement to find the bag that contained my former towels now named “rags” and chose a couple to return to the fold.

It was at that moment that I realized that just this week alone, I’ve recognized some “Life’s Too Short” considerations.  For example, life’s too short for me to pick at the end of really cheap packing tape.  I have 5 rolls of the stuff and I spend WAY more time picking to find the end than I do actually packing up the parcel.  The picking and tearing and picking some more routine makes me frustrated. Every. Single. Time! Life’s too short for that.  I had George replace the rolls.  Call it a Valentine’s Day gift if you must, but Life’s too short for me to spend another second on that task!

Those are just a few examples and maybe you have some of your own.  Life’s too short to eat generic catsup. Life’s too short to stuff yourself into the wrong size jeans.  Life’s too short to wear ill-fitting shoes. Life’s too short to spend time mending a button on a shirt you don’t love. Life’s too short to drink bad coffee, have boring hair or skip dessert. The list goes on. However, in addition to this petty list, there is also the important list.

Life’s too short to waste time to hold grudges, to wait to forgive or to hate. Life’s too short to be anything but happy.

Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away.                                                            — James 4:14

So teach us to number our days, That we may present to You a heart of wisdom                                                                                                                                             –Psalm 90:12

1 Comment

Filed under Inspirational, Life, Scriptures, Uncategorized

One response to “Life’s Too Short

  1. Ida Blevins

    Loved this one, Linda! (Just read that if you add white vinegar to your rinse cycle, it “de-gunks” towels and makes them more absorbent. I’m going to try it, lest I go searching for my own version of our Bob-the-Builder towels!) You’re right. Life’s too short… Thanks for the eloquent reminder! #BeHappy

    Like

Leave a Reply

