Pray Without Ceasing

prayerforyouth1I often hear the scripture from 1 Thessalonians 5:17, “pray without ceasing” and wonder….do I? Ever? I say the blessing before I eat and when I put my head on the pillow at night but is that it? As I grow as a Christian, I recognize that I sincerely do pray a lot more than on the formal occasions such as meals and bedtimes & I try to instill these habits in my children as well. Today, it occurred to me when I was putting a load of delicates in the washing machine.  I probably shouldn’t have put them all in the same load, but I did.  As I closed the door, my involuntary statement was, “Please don’t allow the hooks to snag the sweaters.” Who was I talking to? I was alone in the room, so I guess it was God.  Is He okay with my silly request?  I believe He is…especially as I acknowledge Him and give Him the glory.  Will my clothes get snagged? I will know when the rinse cycle is complete and I pull them out, but, even if they are snagged, it doesn’t mean God didn’t hear my prayer, it just means He had a different plan for me.   Maybe that plan will include a new sweater.  Wouldn’t it be great, if I could remember that response to my “bigger” prayers as I do my smaller ones?  It would be wonderful if I prayed about something and when things didn’t turn out the way I hoped, I would recognize that God may have a better plan in mind? Maybe with a little more practice, I will.  So, as I attempt to pray without ceasing, I will also attempt to remember that He already knows the plans he has for me….and maybe it is even better than a new sweater!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  –Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspirational, Life, Scriptures, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

