Choosing to See

IMG_6900The sun is shining through my kitchen window and I notice a crystal dangling from the teapot ornament that hangs between my windows.  It’s glistening and I notice all the colors that it is displaying.  I don’t remember that.  I never noticed that crystal before.  The whole ornament looks new to me today.  Why?  I reach up and take a look at it and realize that the ornament has been twisted around and is backward.  I can no longer read the saying “Our friendship is like a cup of tea, a special blend of you and me” anymore.  I am looking at the back of the teapot with no words, yet the crystal is sparkling.  You see if I hang the ornament right side out, the crystal can’t catch the sun’s rays and won’t sparkle, but if I leave it this way, the familiar words won’t be showing.  Which way should I hang it? What do I want to see?  The familiar saying and reminder of a dear friend or a surprising multi-colored rainbow in my kitchen?  I get to choose.

The same is true in my relationships.  You see, I’ve been struggling lately with noticing the negative things about others. On the surface, I’ve seen the same person I’ve always seen, but I am now noting things that I feel they should change.  Aren’t these the same people I’ve always known? Why am I seeing this now? I’m ashamed of myself for doing this.  I believe it is simply the way I’m looking at them.  Just like the ornament, there are always two sides to everything.  I can look for the beautiful saying or I can look for the sparkling crystal, but I will see what I choose to see.  And, just like the ornament, both sides are good, even if you can’t spot the rainbow in the making right away. Instead of looking at the ornament and seeing the back side of it, I noticed the crystal…I can certainly do the same with the people I value.  Today, I hope to change my perspective, to see the good in others no matter which way I am looking at them. I vow to not spend another day looking at the back side of something without looking for the sparkle!

images-3

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.  –Phil 4:8

13 Therefore let us stop passing judgment on one another. Instead, make up your mind not to put any stumbling block or obstacle in the way of a brother or sister.  — Romans 14:13

1 Comment

Filed under family, Uncategorized

One response to “Choosing to See

  1. Thank’s for reminding me to look at all side’s. Lately I have been guilty on one side of people wrong, but true!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

