Lean and Stand

I was blessed to be raised by a mother who played the piano.  She played out of the hymn book often and sang along the message that was in them.  I grew up learning to play the piano and hymns and eventually became our church organist.  Though I am not as talented as my mom and I can’t sing and play at the same time, the message of those hymns resonates in me.  I can hear the congregation singing in the background of my mind and at odd times, times when I need to hear them, the voices are plain and melodious.

Last week as I was rushing around and looking at a million situations, I was thinking, “What should I do? What should I do? What should I do?”  That still, small voice, actually, it was that voices of elders from the church I grew up in singing, started instructing me:

“What a fellowship, what a joy divine, leaning on the everlasting arms;

What a blessedness, what a peace is mine, leaning on the everlasting arms.

Leaning, Leaning (if you know the song and sang it as a kid, add in a low voice – leaning on Jesus, leaning on Jesus) safe and secure from all alarms, Leaning, Leaning , leaning on the everlasting arms.”

Wow.  What should I do? Lean?  Sounds easy enough, but it’s harder than you think.  We are a society of do-ers, not leaners!  As I thought about that, another hymn popped into my thoughts.

“Standing on the promises of Christ my King, through eternal ages, let his praises ring, glory in the highest, I will shout and sing,

Standing on the promises of God.

Standing, Standing (again, if you know the hymn, you would be singing Standing on the promises, standing on the promises,) Standing on the promises of God my Savior; Standing, Standing, I’m standing, on the promises of God.”

Leaning and Standing?  Where’s the Running around like a chicken with your head cut off part?  Where’s the fixing, working, rushing, begging, pleading, doing, wondering part?

OK, so the next time my mind starts racing and asking “What should I do? What should I do? I hope I pause and sing along with those wise hymn singers in my head and simply Lean and Stand.  I hope you will too.

“There is no one like the God of Jeshurun, who rides across the heavens to help you and on the clouds in his majesty. The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms.” –Deuteronomy 33:26-27
“..who are standing here with us today in the presence of the Lord our God but also with those who are not here today.”   –Deuteronomy 29:15

Leave a comment

Filed under Devotionals, Inspirational, Scriptures

Leave a comment